Map, Ordinance, Nature Reserves

In the Law on Nature Conservation and the Homeland in the Saarland – Saarland Nature Conservation Act (SNG) dated April 5th, 2006 – a legal precondition was created for establishing the biosphere Bliesgau with corresponding zoning (read the excerpt , "§ 25 Biosphere Reserve BNatschG") .
Correspondingly, the Biosphere Reserve “Biosphere Bliesgau” was established on 19th April 2007 by legal ordinance under German law. The amendment to the ordinance to include the entire city of St. Ingbert was initiated at the end of 2007. In August 2009, it was recognised by UNESCO with the awarding of the certificate to Peter Müller, Minister President of the Saarland.

The core zone includes 10 sub-areas with a total area of around 1,109 ha, i.e. around 3.1 % of the entire area. Only areas that are held by the state or by the Association Saar-Bliesgau/Auf der Lohe were classified as belonging to core zones.
In the core zone, agriculture and forestry is no longer allowed. Hiking on hiking trails is still allowed. A scientifically sound concept for the promotion of natural development is being worked out for each single core zone.

The care zone encompasses around 7,033 ha, i.e. around 19 % of the entire area. The objective in the care zone is to protect landscapes that were created through human use (cultivated landscapes) and assure their continued existence through corresponding human use or care. The goal is to preserve diversity of species and habitats based on the status of each protected area and to preserve and develop exemplary sustainable forms of land use. This is done keeping in mind the changed framework conditions of society and agricultural policy. The care zone combines areas that are very valuable for conservation reasons, e.g. semi-arid limestone grasslands, orchid meadows, and older orchards rich in species, but also flat cultivated meadows and meadows on floodplains.

protected landscape                                                         Beeder Bruch

About 30 % of the care zones are identified as protected conservation areas, with an additional 15% classified as FFH-area. Around 48% - predominantly forest areas in which ecologically sensitive forest management is to be carried out in accordance with the State Forestry Act – are classified as protected landscape areas. The previous use is still permitted in the care zone. This includes a dynamic in the sense of diversity of use and degree of use. Individual rules are established by care and development plans for the conservation and FFH areas. Ecologically sensitive forestry in accordance with the State Forestry Act continues to be permitted in the care zone since they– to the extent that the areas are owned by the state or communities of St. Ingbert, Kleinblittersdorf, Blieskastel or Homburg  –are certified by the Forest Stewardship Council (FSC) or by the Programme for the Endorsement of Forest Certification Schemes (PEFC).


pasque flower                                                              Paris

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.